Main News & Results


Top Stories

Double Dummy - A Bridge Film

Screening at 5pm, 3 June 2018 at Macrobert Filmhouse - a cinema at the University of Stirling.

For the first time in Scotland, the Scottish Bridge Union (SBU) is screening a new bridge film – a film documentary based on a Youth World Bridge Championship which explores the perspectives of the young card players, their families and the wider bridge community.

The film unpacks some of the stereotypes about the game and is particularly aimed at those who may not previously have thought about the card game as a potential leisure activity for themselves or their families.

We want to promote this as widely as possible and the Scottish Bridge Union (SBU) are supporting this event as a marketing tool to promote bridge – the game that many are passionate about because of the significant social, health and cognitive benefits it can bring.

If this has your attention you can read more about the film and what you can do to help to promote it.

Strathpeffer Congress

Congratulations to David Kaye and Irene Sime, winners of the Strathpeffer Congress Championship Pairs at the weekend.

Senior Pairs

Congratulations to Harry Smith & Finlay Marshall who won the Freddie Short Quaich (East District Senior Pairs). Runners up were Cathy Ferguson and Bob McKinnon.

Results are at the Carlton site.

Norman Cooper and Kenny Hunter won the Bronze 3/4 class, with Sue & Ian Campbell taking the B1/2.


Full results at the Carlton site at this link

36th Berwick Congress

Entries are now being accepted for the Congress on Sunday 29 April. Full details, including online entry.

Top of Page
Top of Page

Enter online

Conveners: login to SBU Web Site

Results Board

Older Results

Details from earlier this season.

Top of Page

Tournament Updates

MacLaren Cup latest

The Knockout Cup will be contested by Waverley and either Iconoclasts or holders Renaissance.

Atholl Cup and Plate latest

The Atholl Cup Final will be contested by Harry Smith and Alan Goodman.

The Plate Final is McKinnon versus Home.

Atholl Plate progress chart

Top of Page

Bronze Home Page

Coming Soon in the East District

Today is Wednesday 25 April 2018

  • 25/04 ED Men's Teams (2) (Melville 19:00)
  • 25/04 ED Women's Teams (2) (Melville 19:00) info
  • 26/04 East District AGM (Carlton 19:30)
  • 26/05 * Bronze Challenge Teams (Melville 13:00) info
  • 27/05 Hunter Cup (Melville 13:00) info
  • 01/06 Summer & Novice Leagues start () info
  • 01/07 NEBA Match (Berwick on Tweed)

* Bronze only event

Full district (and other) calendars

ED Tournaments 2017-18

Top of Page

East District League & Cup

Updated 23 April 2018

League wins score 3-0 except * 2-1
AMPs shown in brackets for league matches. Newly submitted results should appear futher down this column.

18/04 D4 Melbas 13210 Comiston 13530 (2)*
17/04 D2 Kelso 13970 Pentland 12640 (5)
12/04 D1 Dundas 8960 Craigleith 11800 (9)
11/04 D1 Falkirk A 14390 Carlton Connection 10630 (9)
11/04 D2 Kelso 14190 Dunfermline A 15040 (3)
05/04 D1 49ers 21790 Falkirk A 15460 (10)
05/04 D1 Craigleith 13900 Phoenix 9040 (11)
05/04 D3 Orion 14570 Randolph 12660 (6)

Results | Tables | Next matches | Submit result

Current League Leaders:
Div 1: 49ers
Div 2: Colinton Castle
Div 3: Orion
Div 4: Renaissance
Div 5: Diamonds

MacLaren Cup page, MacLaren Cup Wall Chart

Breaking results

View most recent 50 results in more detail

These are results which been submitted within the past 7 days. The league tables will only reflect these results once they have been processed and appear in the main list.

Top of Page


Notice of Annual General Meeting

The Annual General Meeting of the East District of the Scottish Bridge Union will be held on Thursday 26th April 2018 in the Carlton Bridge Centre, 36B Warriston Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 5NE at 7.30 pm.

All members of the East District are entitled to attend and vote at the Annual General Meeting.


Here is the Constitution of the East District as approved at the AGM in May 2011.

The Laws of Bridge

The SBU implemented the new 2017 Laws on 1st September 2017. Copies of the new Laws are available from Anne Perkins.

MP Claims

Any paper points, email queries, cheques, and all correspondence related to SBU Master Points must be sent to:

SBU Member Services,
Dept #16,
196 Rose Street,
Edinburgh EH2 4AT.

Any email communications relating to Master Points should be sent to

Master Points Database

MEMPAD gives every SBU member access to their current Master Point totals and ranking, updated daily. Clubs submit master points on-line so you will be able to see your MP totals updated relatively soon after you have played at your local club. There’s also information about members, clubs and SBU competitions.

Email the Master Point Secretary () and ask for a login. Remember to quote your MasterPoint number; you can then register, update your personal details (address, telephone number, email address etc.) and change your password.

Web Site

Design & updates for East District by Alan Officer.

Top of Page